Nuclear Safety Division
  • Rich Janati, Nuclear Safety Division Chief

  • James Barnhart, Radioactive Waste & Emergency Response Section Chief

  • Contacting the Nuclear Safety Division:

    • Phone:  717-787-2163
    • Fax:  717-783-8965
    • Nuclear Safety Division Hotline:
      717-787-2163 (Pennsylvania only)

The Nuclear Safety Division conducts a comprehensive nuclear power plant oversight review program of the nine reactors at the five nuclear power sites in Pennsylvania. It also monitors the activities associated with management and disposal of a low-level radioactive waste disposal facility in Pennsylvania and provides planning and support for Bureau response to incidents involving nuclear power plants and/or radioactive material in Pennsylvania.