
(Editor’s Note:  As part of this proposal, the Board is deleting the existing text of Chapter 210,
§§210.1-210.6, which appears at 25 Pa. Code pages 210-1–210-5, serial numbers (243459)–
(243463).)
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§ 210.11.  Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, have the following meanings,
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

Blaster - A person who is licensed by the Department under this chapter to detonate
explosives and supervise blasting activities.

Blaster learner - An individual who is learning to be a blaster and who participates in
blasting activities under the direct supervision of a blaster.

Blaster’s license - A license to detonate explosives and supervise blasting activities issued
by the Department under this chapter.

DEMOLITION AND DEMOLITION BLASTING - THE ACT OF WRECKING OR
DEMOLISHING A STRUCTURE WITH EXPLOSIVES.

Person - A natural person.
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§ 210.12.  Scope.

This chapter applies to persons engaging in the detonation of explosives within this
Commonwealth.  This chapter does not apply to persons authorized to detonate explosives or to
supervise blasting activities under:

(1) The Pennsylvania Anthracite Coal Mine Act (52 P. S. §§ 70.101-70.1405).

(2) The Pennsylvania Bituminous Coal Mine Act (52 P. S. §§ 701-101-701-706).

§ 210.13.  General.

(a) A person may not detonate explosives or supervise blasting activities unless the
person has obtained a blaster’s license.

(b) The Department may exempt certain individuals from needing a blaster’s license if
the person is detonating extremely small amounts of explosives for industrial or research
purposes.  The Department will consider a written request for an exemption from the person
seeking the exemption.

(c) UPON REQUEST, A BLASTER  [A blaster upon request] shall exhibit a
blaster’s license to the following:

(1) An authorized representative of the Department.

(2) The blaster’s employer or an authorized representative of the employer.

(3) A police officer acting in the line of duty.

(d) A blaster’s license is not transferable.

§ 210.14.  Eligibility requirements.

(a) To be eligible for a blaster’s license, a person shall:

(1) Be 21 years of age or older.

(2) Have at least 1 year of experience as a blaster learner in preparing blasts in
the classification for which a license is being sought.

(3) Have taken the Department’s class on explosives.  It is not necessary for a
blaster to retake the class when adding an additional classification to a license.
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(4) Have successfully passed the Department’s examination for a blaster’s
license.

(b) The Department will not issue or renew a license IF [unless the following
conditions are met:

(1) The applicant is of good moral character.

(2) The] THE applicant, AS INDICATED BY PAST OR CONTINUING
VIOLATIONS, HAS DEMONSTRATED A LACK OF ABILITY OR INTENTION  [has
demonstrated an inability or lack of intention] to comply with the Department’s regulations
concerning blasting activities.

§ 210.15.  License application.

(a) The license application shall be on forms [prepared] PROVIDED by the
Department and be accompanied by a check for $50 payable to the Commonwealth of
Pennsylvania.  The complete application shall be submitted to the Department at least 2 weeks
prior to the examination.

(b) The license application shall include a signed notarized statement from A
PERSON WHO HAS DIRECT KNOWLEDGE OF THE APPLICANT’S EXPERTISE,
SUCH AS  the blaster who supervised the applicant, or the applicant’s employer.  The statement
shall:

(1) Describe the applicant’s experience in blasting. In particular, the statement
shall describe in detail how the applicant assisted in the preparation of the blasts and for how
long.

(2) State the author’s opinion as to whether the applicant is competent to
prepare and detonate blasts in the classification for which the license is being sought.

§ 210.16.  Examinations.

(a) The Department will conduct examinations for specific types of blasting, as
specified in § 210.17(a) (relating to issuance and renewal of licenses).

(b) The Department will schedule and conduct examinations as needed.

(c) An applicant failing to appear for a scheduled examination forfeits the application
fee unless the applicant provides written notice to the Department prior to the examination date or
submits a valid medical excuse in writing.
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(d) Refund of the fee or admittance to a subsequent examination without a
reapplication fee will be at the discretion of the Department.

§ 210.17.  Issuance and renewal of licenses.

(a) A blaster’s license is issued for a specific classification of blasting activities.  The
classifications will be determined by the Department and may include general blasting (which
includes all classifications except demolition and underground noncoal mining), trenching and
construction, seismic and pole line work, well perforation, surface mining, underground noncoal
mining, industrial, limited and demolition.

(b) A person may apply to amend the blaster’s license for other classifications by
meeting the requirements of § 210.14 (relating to eligibility requirements) and by submitting a
complete application.

(c) A blaster’s license will be issued for 3 years.

(d) A blaster’s license is renewable if the blaster can demonstrate that he has had
8 hours of continuing education in Department-approved courses related to blasting and safety
within the 3 year period.

(e) The blaster’s license may be renewed for a 3-year term by submitting a renewal
application to the Department and a check for $30, payable to the Commonwealth of
Pennsylvania.

(f) A person who intends to be a blaster and whose blaster’s license was not renewed
within 1 year of its expiration date shall apply for a new license under §§ 210.14-210.16 (relating
to eligibility requirements; license application; and examinations).

(g)        A PERSON WHO CONDUCTED DEMOLITION BLASTING UNDER A
GENERAL BLASTER’S LICENSE MAY CONDUCT DEMOLITION BLASTING
AFTER  ___________________  (EDITOR’S NOTE:  THE BLANK REFERS TO THE
EFFECTIVE DATE OF THE ADOPTION OF THIS PROPOSAL.)  BY APPLYING FOR
AND RECEIVING A DEMOLITION BLASTER’S LICENSE.  THE DEPARTMENT
MAY WAIVE THE EXAMINATION REQUIRED BY § 210.14 (RELATING TO
ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS) AND THE APPLICATION FEE IF THE BLASTER
DEMONSTRATES AT LEAST THREE YEARS OF EXPERIENCE IN DEMOLITION
BLASTING.  THE DEMONSTRATION MUST BE IN THE FORM OF A NOTARIZED
STATEMENT FROM THE BLASTER’S EMPLOYER THAT DESCRIBES THE
BLASTER’S EXPERIENCE.
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§ 210.18.  Recognition of out-of-State blaster’s license.

(a) The Department may license a person who holds a blaster’s license or its
equivalent in another state.  The Department may issue the license if, in the opinion of the
Department, that state’s licensing program provides training on the use, storage and handling of
explosives and an examination that is equivalent to the requirements of this chapter.

(b) A request for a license under this section shall be made in writing.  Copies of the
other state’s explosives training and examination material and proof that the applicant holds a
license in the other state shall be provided to the Department so that the Department can make a
proper evaluation.

§ 210.19.  Suspension, modification and revocation.

The Department may issue orders suspending, modifying or revoking a blaster’s license.
Before an order is issued, the Department will give the blaster an opportunity for an informal
meeting to discuss the facts and issues that form the basis of the Department’s determination to
suspend, modify or revoke the license.  The Department may suspend, modify or revoke a
blaster’s license for violations of this chapter and Chapter 211 (relating to use, storage and
handling of explosives in surface applications).
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(Editor’s Note:  As part of this proposal, the Board is deleting the existing text of Chapter 211,
§§ 211.1, 211.2, 211.31-211.44, 211.51-211.56, 211.61, 211.62, 211.71-211.76 and 211.81-211.88
which appears at 25 Pa. Code pages 211-1-211-38, serial numbers (243465)-(243502).)

CHAPTER 211.
USE, STORAGE AND HANDLING OF

EXPLOSIVES IN SURFACE APPLICATIONS

Subch.

A. GENERAL PROVISIONS
B. STORAGE AND CLASSIFICATION OF EXPLOSIVES
C. PERMITS
D. RECORDS OF DISPOSITION OF EXPLOSIVES
E. TRANSPORTATION OF EXPLOSIVES
F. BLASTING ACTIVITIES
G. REQUIREMENTS FOR MONITORING
H. BLASTING ACTIVITIES NEAR UTILITY LINES

SUBCHAPTER A.
GENERAL PROVISIONS

Sec.

211.101. Definitions.
211.102. Scope.
211.103. Enforcement.

§ 211.101.  Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, have the following meanings,
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

Airblast - An airborne shock wave resulting from an explosion, also known as air
overpressure, which may or may not be audible.

Blast area - The area around the blast site that should be cleared to prevent injury to
persons and damage to property.
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Blast site – THE SPECIFIC LOCATION WHERE THE EXPLOSIVES CHARGES
ARE LOADED INTO THE BLAST HOLES.  [The area where the explosive charges are
located.]

Blaster - An individual who is licensed by the Department under Chapter 210 (relating to
blasters’ licenses) to detonate explosives and supervise blasting activities.

Blaster-in-charge - The blaster designated to have supervision and control over all
blasting activities related to a blast.

Blasting activity - The actions associated with the use of explosives from the time of
delivery of explosives to a worksite until all postblast measures are taken, including priming,
loading, stemming, wiring or connecting, detonating, and all necessary safety, notification and
monitoring measures.

Building - A structure that is DESIGNED FOR HUMAN HABITATION,
EMPLOYMENT OR ASSEMBLY [regularly occupied where people live, work or
assemble].

Charge weight - The weight in pounds of an explosive charge.

Delay interval - The designed time interval, usually in milliseconds, between successive
detonations.

[Demolition activity - The act of wrecking or demolishing a structure with
explosives.]

Detonator - A device containing an initiating or primary explosive that is used for
initiating detonation of explosives.  The term includes electric blasting caps of instantaneous and
delay types, blasting caps for use with safety fuses, detonating cord, delay connectors and
nonelectric instantaneous and delay blasting caps.

Explosive - A chemical compound, mixture or device that contains oxidizing and
combustible materials or other ingredients in such proportions or quantities that an ignition by
fire, friction, concussion, percussion or detonation may result in an explosion.

(i) The term includes safety fuse, squibs, detonating cord and igniters.

(ii) The term does not include the following:

(A) Commercially manufactured black powder, percussion caps, safety and
pyrotechnic fuses, matches and friction primers, intended to be used solely for sporting,
recreational or cultural purposes in antique firearms or antique devices, as defined in 18 U.S.C.A.
§ 921 (relating to definitions).
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(B) Smokeless powder, primers used for reloading rifle or pistol cartridges,
shot shells, percussion caps and smokeless propellants intended for personal use.

Flyrock - Overburden, stone, clay or other material ejected from the blast AREA [site] by
the force of a blast.

Magazine - A [building or] structure used for the storage of explosives.

Misfire - Incomplete detonation of explosives.

Particle velocity - A measure of the intensity of ground vibration, specifically the time rate
of change of the amplitude of ground vibration.

Peak particle velocity - The maximum intensity of particle velocity.

Person - A natural person, partnership, association, or corporation or an agency,
instrumentality or entity of state government.  [Whenever used in any clause prescribing and
imposing a penalty, or imposing a fine or imprisonment, or both, the term includes the
members of an association and the directors, officers or agents of a corporation.]

Primer - A cartridge or package of high explosives into which a detonator has been
inserted or attached.

Purchase - To obtain ownership of explosives from another person.

Sale or sell - To transfer ownership of explosives to another person.

Scaled distance (Ds) - A value calculated by using the actual distance (D) in feet,
measured in a horizontal line from the blast site to the nearest building OR STRUCTURE,
neither owned nor leased by the blasting activity permittee or its customer, divided by the square
root of the maximum weight of explosives (W) in pounds, that is detonated per delay period of
less than 8 milliseconds.

Ds = D ÷ √W

Stemming - Inert material placed in a blast hole after an explosive charge for the purpose
of confining the explosion gases to the blast hole, and inert material used to separate explosive
charges in decked holes.

Structure - A combination of materials or piece of work built or composed of parts joined
together in some definite manner for occupancy, use or ornamentation.  The term includes
everything that is built or constructed, including bridges, offices, water towers, silos and
dwellings.

Utility lines - An electric cable, fiber optic line, pipeline or other type of conduit used to
transport or transmit electricity, gases, liquids and other media including information.
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§ 211.102.  Scope.

(a) This chapter applies to persons using, storing, purchasing and selling explosives
and engaging in blasting activities within this Commonwealth.  Persons using and storing
explosives at underground mines are exempt from this chapter. The storage of explosives in
magazines on the surface at an underground noncoal mine is subject to the applicable
requirements of this chapter.  The provisions of this chapter that are more stringent than the
blasting provisions in Chapters 77, 87 and 88 (relating to noncoal mining; surface mining of coal;
and anthracite coal) apply to blasting activities at coal or noncoal surface mines.

(b) Compliance with this chapter does not relieve a person who is engaged in the
purchase or sale of explosives, or blasting activities, from compliance with other applicable laws
or regulations of the Commonwealth.

§ 211.103.  Enforcement.

(a) The Department may issue orders necessary to implement this chapter including an
order to suspend, modify or revoke a license or permit authorized by this chapter.

(b) Before issuing an order modifying peak particle velocity or airblast limits in a
blasting activity permit, the Department will first provide the permittee with an opportunity to
meet and discuss modifications.

SUBCHAPTER B.
STORAGE AND CLASSIFICATION OF EXPLOSIVES

Sec.

211.111. Scope.
211.112. Magazine license and fees.
211.113. Application contents.
211.114. Displaying the license.
211.115. Standards for classifying and storing explosives, and constructing, maintaining and

siting magazines.

§ 211.111.  Scope.

This subchapter applies to the classification and storage of explosives.  It establishes the
requirements, procedures and standards for licensing, constructing, siting and maintaining
magazines.
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§ 211.112.  Magazine license and fees.

(a) A person storing explosives shall do so in a magazine licensed by the Department.
A person may not construct, install or modify a magazine until the Department has issued or
amended the license in writing.  The licensee shall store explosives in accordance with the
approved application, the license and this chapter.

(b) The license specifies the types and quantities of explosives to be stored in the
magazine and any other condition necessary to ensure that the proposed activity complies with
applicable statutes and this chapter.

(c) Licenses expire annually on December 31 of each year.  If the Department receives
a complete renewal application by December 31, the licensee may continue to operate under the
current license until the Department acts on the renewal application.

(d) License fees are as follows:

(1) License:

(i) Application - $50

(ii) Site inspection - $50

(2) License modifications - $50

(3) License renewals - $50

(4) License transfers - no fee

§ 211.113.  Application contents.

(a) An application to obtain, renew, modify or transfer a magazine license shall be on
forms approved by the Department.  Before the Department issues, renews, transfers or modifies a
license, the application must demonstrate that the applicant has complied with the applicable
requirements of this chapter.

(b) A COMPLETED license application shall include:

(1) The applicant’s [identity, including] name, address and telephone number.

(2) A contact person, including name, title and telephone number.
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(3) The types and quantities of explosives to be stored WITHIN  [at] the
magazine.

(4) A map, plan or a sketch of the site location showing the nearest buildings,
nearest railways, nearest highways, and existing barricades, if any, and proposed barricades.

(5) A plan showing the design and specifications of the magazine to be
licensed.

(c) A license renewal application shall include:

(1) The applicant’s [identity, including] name, address and telephone number.

(2) A contact person, including name, title and telephone number.

(3) The maximum amount and type of explosives for which the magazine is
currently licensed.

§ 211.114.  Displaying the license.

The magazine license, or a legible copy of the license, shall be conspicuously displayed.
If possible, the license shall be displayed inside the magazine.  In all other cases, the license shall
be displayed at the site and adjacent to the magazine to which it applies.

§ 211.115.  Standards for classifying and storing explosives and constructing, maintaining
and siting magazines.

(a) The provisions of 27 CFR Part 55, Subpart K (relating to storage), are incorporated
herein by reference.  These provisions shall be used to:

(1) Classify explosives.

(2) Determine which class of explosives may be stored in each type of
magazine.

(3) Determine the quantity of explosives that may be stored.

4) Determine the applicable construction standards for each type of magazine.

(5) Site the magazine.

(6) Specify maintenance and housekeeping standards for a magazine.

(7) Grant variances.
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(b) For purposes of incorporation by reference of 27 CFR Part 55 Subpart K, the term
“Department” is substituted for the term “director,” and the term “representatives of the
Department” is substituted for the term “ATF Official.”

SUBCHAPTER C.
PERMITS

Sec.

211.121. General requirements.
211.122. Permits to sell explosives.
211.123. Permits to purchase explosives.
211.124. Blasting activity permits.
211.125. Blasting activity permit by rule.

§ 211.121.  General requirements.

(a) Except as otherwise provided in this subchapter, a person may not engage in
blasting activities, or sell or purchase explosives in this Commonwealth without first obtaining
the appropriate permit from the Department issued under this chapter.

(b) Permits under this chapter are not required for the sale, purchase or use of
fireworks governed by the act of May 15, 1939 (35 P. S. §§ 1271-1277).

(c) A permit issued under the Surface Mining Conservation and Reclamation Act
(52 P. S. §§ 1396.1-1396.18), or the Noncoal Surface Mining and Conservation and Reclamation
Act (52 P. S. §§ 3301-3326), and the regulations promulgated thereunder, authorizing blasting
activity shall act as a blasting activity permit issued under this chapter.

(d) An application for a permit for the sale or purchase of explosives or to conduct
blasting activities shall be on a form provided by the Department.  A permit will not be issued
unless the application is complete and demonstrates that the proposed activities comply with the
applicable requirements of this chapter.  THE DEPARTMENT WILL NOTIFY
APPLICANTS OF AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION AND IDENTIFY THE ITEMS
NECESSARY TO COMPLETE THE APPLICATION.  The permittee shall comply with the
approved application, the permit and this chapter.

(e) The Department will not issue a permit to any person who has either:

(1) Failed and continues to fail to comply with this chapter or a condition of a
permit issued under this chapter or an order issued to enforce this chapter.
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(2) Demonstrated an inability or lack of intention to comply with this chapter
as indicated by past or continuing violations.

§ 211.122.  Permits to sell explosives.

(a) An application for a permit to sell explosives shall:

(1) Identify the applicant’s name, address, telephone number and type of
business.

(2) Identify a contact person, including name, title and telephone NUMBER.

(3) Specify the type of explosives to be sold.

(4) State whether the applicant will purchase or manufacture the explosives to
be sold.

(5) For in-State sellers, include the applicant’s magazine license number, if
applicable.

(b) Permits to sell explosives are not transferable.

(c) Permits to sell explosives expire on April 30 of each year.  If the Department
receives a complete renewal application by April 30, the permittee may continue to operate under
the current permit until the Department acts on the renewal application.

(d) A permit to sell explosives shall:

(1) Identify the permittee.

(2) Specify the type of explosives that the permittee may sell.

(3) Contain conditions, as necessary, to ensure that the proposed activity
complies with applicable statutes and this chapter.

§ 211.123.  Permits to purchase explosives.

(a) An application for a permit to purchase explosives shall:

(1) Identify the applicant’s name, address, telephone number and type of
business.

(2) Identify a contact person, including name, title and telephone number.
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(3) Identify the location and license number of the magazine to be used for
storing the explosives, if applicable.

(4) Specify the type of explosives that will be purchased.

(5) Specify whether the explosives are being purchased for sale or use by the
permittee.

(b) Permits to purchase explosives are not transferable.

(c) Permits to purchase explosives expire on April 30 of each year.  If the Department
receives a complete renewal application by April 30, the permittee may continue to operate under
the current permit until the Department acts on the renewal.

§ 211.124.  Blasting activity permits.

(a) An application for a blasting activity permit shall be prepared by a blaster and shall
include:

(1) The applicant’s name, address, telephone number and type of business.

(2) A contact person’s name, title and telephone number.

(3) The identity of independent subcontractors who will be performing the
blasting activities.

(4) The type of explosives to be used.

(5) The maximum amount of explosives that will be detonated per delay
interval of less than 8 milliseconds.

(6) The maximum amount of explosives that will be detonated in any one blast.

(7) A map indicating the location where the explosives will be used.

(8) The purpose for which the explosives will be used.

(9) The location and license number of the magazine that will be used to store
the explosives, if applicable.

(10) A description of how the monitoring requirements of Subchapter G
(relating to requirements for monitoring) will be satisfied.

(11) Proof of third party general liability insurance in the amount of $300,000 or
greater per occurrence.  This requirement is not applicable if the permittee is a noncoal surface
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mine operator who produces no more than 2,000 tons (1,814 metric tons) of marketable minerals
per year from all its noncoal surface mining operations.

(12) The anticipated duration of the blasting activity for which the permit is
needed.

(13) The anticipated days of the week and times when blasting may occur.

(14) The distance and direction to the closest building not owned by the
permittee or its customer.

(15) Other information needed by the Department to determine compliance with
applicable laws and regulations.

(16) The printed name, signature and license number of the blaster who
prepared the application.

(17) Proof that residents within 200 feet (65.61 meters) of the blast site were
informed of the proposed blasting operation.  This notification could be a personal notification,
written material left at each residence, or first class mail.  The notification will provide general
information about the blasting operation including the duration of the operation.

(b) Blasting activity permits are not transferable.

(c) The blasting activity permit shall specify:

(1) The blasting activity permittee.

(2) Any independent subcontractors performing work under this permit.

(3) Limits on particle velocity and airblast.

(4) The types of explosives that may be used.

(5) The duration of the permit.

(6) Other conditions necessary to ensure that the proposed blasting activity
complies with the applicable statutes and this chapter.

(d) The permittee may request extensions and modifications by submitting an
amended application.
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§ 211.125.  Blasting activity permit by rule.

(a) A person shall be deemed to have a permit for a blasting activity if:

(1) The blasts are designed and performed for a scaled distance of 90 or
greater.

(2) No more than 15 pounds (6.81 kilograms) of explosives are detonated per
delay interval of less than 8 milliseconds.

(3) The total charge weight per blast does not exceed 150 pounds
(68.18 kilograms).

(4) The person notifies the Department either verbally, in writing, or by other
means approved by the Department prior to the initial blast.  If the person gives verbal
notification, a written notice shall be received by the Department within 5 working days. The
notification shall indicate the following information for all blasts that will occur under this permit:

(i) The identity of the person.

(ii) The location where the blasting will occur.

(iii) The purpose of the blasting.

(iv) The distance to the nearest building not owned or leased by the
person or its customer.

(v) The days of the week and times when blasting may occur.

(vi) The duration of blasting activities under this permit by rule.

(vii) The minimum scaled distance.

(viii) The maximum weight of explosives detonated per delay period of
less than 8 milliseconds.

(ix) The maximum total weight of explosives per blast.

(x) A contact person and telephone number.

(5) Blast reports are completed in accordance with § 211.133 (relating to blast
report).

(6) The other monitoring and performance standards of this chapter are met.
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(b) The Department may revoke a blasting activity permit by rule under one of the
following:

(1) The permittee has demonstrated an unwillingness or inability to comply
with the applicable regulations.

(2) The blasting activity possesses a sufficient risk of harm to the public or the
environment to warrant an individual blasting activity permit.

SUBCHAPTER D.
RECORDS OF DISPOSITION OF EXPLOSIVES

Sec.

211.131. Sales records.
211.132. Purchase records.
211.133. Blast [report.] REPORTS.

§ 211.131.  Sales records.

The seller shall keep an accurate record of every sale of explosives for 3 years.  The
record shall identify the purchaser’s name and address, the Department purchase permit number,
the date of the sale and the amount and types of explosives.

§ 211.132.  Purchase records.

The purchaser shall keep a record of all purchases of explosives for 3 years.  The record
shall identify the date, types and amounts of explosives purchased and the name and address of
the seller.

§ 211.133. Blast [report.] REPORTS.

 (a) The blaster-in-charge shall prepare a report of each blast [report] to provide the
Department with sufficient information to reconstruct the conditions and events surrounding a
blast. The Department may develop and require a blast report form to be used.  The blasting
activity permittee shall retain the blast report for at least 3 years and shall make the blast report
available to the Department upon request.  Blast reports shall contain, at a minimum, the
following:

(1) The locations of the blast and monitoring readings.
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(2) The name of the blasting activity permittee.

(3) The BLASTING ACTIVITY PERMIT OR APPROPRIATE MINING
permit number.

(4) The date and time of the blast.

(5) The printed name, signature and license number of the blaster-in-charge.

(6) The type of material blasted.

(7) A sketch showing the number of blast holes, burden, spacing, pattern
dimensions and point of initiation.

(8) The diameter and depth of blast holes.

(9) The height or length of stemming and deck separation FOR EACH
HOLE.

(10) The types of explosives used and arrangement in blast holes.

(11) The total weight in pounds of explosives and primer cartridges used.

(12) The maximum weight in pounds of explosives detonated per delay period
of less than 8 milliseconds.

(13) The type of circuit, if electric detonation was used.

(14) The direction and distance in feet from the blast site to the nearest building
not owned by the blasting activity permittee or its customer.

(15) A description of the nearest building location NOT OWNED OR
LEASED BY THE BLASTING ACTIVITY PERMITTEE OR ITS CUSTOMER based upon
local landmarks.

(16) The scaled distance.

(17) The weather conditions.

(18) The direction from which the wind was coming.

(19) The measures taken to control flyrock, including whether or not mats were
used.

(20) The total quantity and type of detonators used and delays used.
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(21) The number of individuals in the blasting crew.

(22) The maximum number of blast holes or portions of blast holes detonated
per delay period less than 8 milliseconds.

(23) The monitoring records required by § 211.173 (relating to monitoring
records).  Monitoring records shall be made part of the blast report within 30 days of the blast.
Beginning ______ (Editor’s Note:  The blank refers to a date 3 years from the effective date of
adoption of this proposal.), monitoring records shall be made part of the blast report within 14
[7] days of the blast.  THE DEPARTMENT MAY GRANT A WAIVER TO ALLOW
MONITORING RECORDS TO BE MADE PART OF THE BLASTING RECORD
WITHIN 30 DAYS OF THE BLAST IF ALL BLASTS, REGARDLESS OF SCALED
DISTANCE, ARE MONITORED AND MONTHLY SUMMARIES OF THESE REPORTS,
INCLUDING THE INFORMATION REQUIRED IN §211.133(24)(b), ARE PROVIDED.
MONITORING RECORDS MUST BE MADE PART OF THE BLAST REPORT WITHIN
7 DAYS, IF REQUESTED BY THE DEPARTMENT.

(24) If a misfire occurred, the actions taken to make the site safe AS
SPECIFIED IN SECTION 211.157 (RELATING TO POSTBLAST MEASURES).

(b) The Department may require monthly summaries of these reports.  The summaries
shall include the date and time of the blasts, scaled distance, peak particle velocity, airblast,
monitoring location, amount and types of explosives used and other information the Department
deems necessary to ensure compliance with this chapter.

SUBCHAPTER E.
TRANSPORTATION OF EXPLOSIVES

§ 211.141.  General requirements.

The blasting activity, purchase or sale permittee shall:

(1) Immediately unload a vehicle carrying explosives upon reaching a magazine
location.  The unloaded vehicle shall be removed from the site.  The only exception to this
requirement is if the vehicle is a licensed magazine under Subchapter B (relating to the storage
and classification of explosives).

(2) Load or unload explosives from a vehicle only after the engine is turned off, unless
power is needed for the loading or unloading operation.  The permittee shall take all precautions
necessary, such as blocking the wheels, to prevent the movement of the vehicle while it is being
loaded or unloaded.

(3) Load explosives only into a vehicle that is marked in accordance with the
Department of Transportation standards for placarding vehicles transporting explosives.
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(4) Prohibit smoking within 100 feet of a vehicle used for transporting explosives.
“NO SMOKING” signs shall be posted when a vehicle containing explosives is parked at a blast
site or magazine.

(5) Load no more than 2,000 pounds (908 kilograms) of explosives into an open body
vehicle for transporting.  The ends and sides shall be high enough to prevent explosives from
falling off, and the load shall be covered with a fire-resistant tarpaulin, unless the explosives are
transported in a magazine securely attached to the vehicle.

(6) [Only] load explosives into a closed body vehicle if the load is MORE THAN
2,000 pounds (908 kilograms) [or more] of explosives.

(7) Only load explosives into a vehicle with a bed made of wood or other nonsparking
material.

(8) Load explosives into a vehicle which is also transporting metal, metal tools,
blasting machines or other articles or materials likely to damage the explosives, only if these
items are separated from the explosives by substantial nonsparking bulkheads constructed to
prevent damage to the explosives.

(9) Load detonators and other explosives into the same vehicle only if the detonators
are in containers that conform to the current version of the Institute of Makers of Explosives
Safety Library Publication # 22 available from the Institute of Makers of Explosives,
1120 Nineteenth Street, N. W., Suite 310, Washington, DC  20036-3605.

(10) Not load explosives into the same vehicle with materials such as matches,
firearms, electric storage batteries, corrosive compounds, flammable substances, acids, oxidizing
agents and ammonium nitrate not in the original containers.

(11) Only load explosives into vehicles equipped with A [at least two] fire
extinguisher[s] HAVING A [ approved and coded by the] National Board of Underwriters
LABORATORIES RATING OF 10 B:C OR MORE.  The fire extinguisher[s] shall be easily
accessible and ready for immediate use.  [If the vehicle has:

(i) A the extinguishers gross weight of 14,000 pounds (6,356 kilograms) or
less, the extinguishers shall have a combined capacity of 4-A:20-B,C, or equivalent.

(ii) A gross weight of greater than 14,000 pounds (6,356 kilograms) and
for tractor/semitrailers, shall have a combined capacity of 4-A:70-B,C, or equivalent.]

(12) Load explosives into a vehicle so that explosives containers are not exposed to
sparks or hot gases from the exhaust tailpipe.  Exhaust systems that discharge upwards are
recommended to avoid possible exposure of sparks or hot gases to explosives.
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(13) Only load explosives into vehicles that have passed the State safety inspection or
certification.

SUBCHAPTER F.
BLASTING ACTIVITIES

Sec.

211.151. Prevention of damage.
211.152. Control of noxious gases.
211.153. General requirements for handling explosives.
211.154. Preparing the blast.
211.155. Preblast measures.
211.156. Detonating the blast.
211.157. Postblast measures.
211.158. Mudcapping.
211.159. Electric detonation.
211.160. Nonelectric detonation.
211.161. Detonating cords.
211.162. Safety fuse.

§ 211.151.  Prevention of damage.

(a) Blasting may not damage real property except for real property under the control
of the permittee.  If damage occurs, the blaster-in-charge shall notify the Department within 4
hours of learning of the damage.

(b) Blasting may not cause flyrock.  If flyrock occurs, the blaster-in-charge shall
notify the Department within 4 hours of learning of the flyrock.

(c) Blasts shall be designed and conducted in a manner that achieves either a scaled
distance of 90 or meets the maximum allowable peak particle velocity as indicated by Figure 1
AT THE CLOSEST BUILDING OR OTHER STRUCTURE DESIGNATED BY THE
DEPARTMENT.  However, blasting activities authorized prior to __________    (Editor’s
Note:  The blank refers to the effective date of the adoption of this proposal.  Figure 1 appears on
the following page may continue as authorized unless the authorization is modified, suspended or
revoked by the Department.  The scaled distance and maximum allowable peak particle velocity
does not apply at a building or other structure owned or leased by the permittee or its customer.
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Figure 1.
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(d) Blasts shall be designed and conducted to control airblast so that it does not exceed
the noise levels specified in Table 1 at a building or other structure designated by the Department
unless the building is owned or LEASED [based] by the permittee or its customer.

Table 1
Lower frequency limits of measuring

System in Hz(+3dB) Maximum allowable levels in dBL

0.1 Hz or lower –  flat response* 134 peak
2.0 Hz or lower –  flat response 133 peak
6.0 Hz or lower –  flat response 129 peak
C – weighted –  slow response* 105 peak

*only when approved by the Department

(e) The Department may ESTABLISH AN ALTERNATIVE [reduce the
maximum] peak particle velocity or airblast level if it determines that AN ALTERNATIVE [a
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lower] standard is appropriate because of density of population, land use, age or type of structure,
geology or hydrology of the area, frequency of blasts or other factors.

§ 211.152.  Control of noxious gases.

A blast shall be conducted so that the gases generated by the blast do not affect the health
and safety of individuals. Effects from gases may be prevented by taking measures such as
venting the gases to the atmosphere, interrupting the path along which gases may flow, and
evacuating people from areas that may contain gases.

§ 211.153.  General requirements for handling explosives.

(a) Only a nonferrous, nonsparking tool shall be used to open containers of explosives.

(b) Matches, lighters and smoking are prohibited within 100 feet (30.48 [30.84]
meters) of the blast site and areas where explosives are used or stored.

(c) If it becomes necessary to destroy damaged or deteriorated explosives, the
permittee shall immediately contact the manufacturer for technical advice and assistance.

(d) Detonators may not be forced into cartridges of explosive or cast boosters.
Detonators shall be completely inserted into a hole in an explosive cartridge made with an
approved powder punch or into the detonator well of a cast booster.

(e) Explosives may not be left unattended.  They are to be stored in a licensed
magazine or kept under the permittee’s supervision and control.

(f) A loaded blast shall always be under the continuous observation of the blaster-in-
charge or a designee.

(g) Shooting or carrying ammunition or firearms on a blast site and in areas where
explosives are used or stored is prohibited, except for material needed to initiate the blast.

(h) If blasting activities are conducted in the vicinity of electric lines such as
transmission lines or electrified railways, a test shall be made for presence of stray electric
currents.  Electric blasting caps may not be used if stray electric currents in excess of
50 milliamperes are present.

(i) A package of explosives may not be thrown, slid along floors or over other
packages of explosives, or handled roughly.

(j) If an electrical storm approaches an area where there is an activity involving
explosives, the area shall be cleared by the permittee or licensee, who shall post guards at all
approaches to prevent trespass of unauthorized persons.
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(k) Explosives and equipment that are obviously damaged or deteriorated may not be
used.

(l) Explosives may not be abandoned.

§ 211.154.  Preparing the blast.

(a) The blasting activity permittee shall designate a blaster-in-charge for each blast.
The blaster-in-charge shall control and supervise the blasting activity.  The blaster-in-charge is
responsible for all effects of the blast.

(b) Only equipment necessary for loading blast holes may be allowed to operate
within 50 feet (15.24 meters) of the blast site.  The Department may establish in writing a
different distance limitation.

(c) A BLASTER-IN-CHARGE [person] may not prepare or detonate a blast unless
another person is present, able and ready to render assistance in the event of accident or injury.

(d) The blaster-in-charge shall make every effort to determine the condition of the
material to be blasted from the individual who drilled the blast holes or from the drill log.

(e) Only the blaster-in-charge, other blasters, and up to six assistants per blaster may
be at a blast site once loading of blast holes begins.

(f) While loading a blast hole, the following measures shall be followed:

(1) Ferrous material may not be used in the blast hole unless the use is
approved by the Department in writing.  This includes the use of steel casings, ferrous tools and
retrieving equipment.

(2) Only nonferrous, nonsparking tamping sticks may be used in loading a
blast hole.  Sectional poles connected by brass fittings are permitted, if only the NONFERROUS,
NONSPARKING [wooden] end of the pole is used for tamping.  Retrieving hooks shall be made
from nonsparking metal such as brass or bronze.

(3) When using a pneumatic loading device, every precaution shall be taken to
prevent an accumulation of static electricity.  A loading operation shall be stopped immediately if
static electricity or stray electrical currents are detected.  The condition shall be remedied before
loading may be resumed.

(4) The blast hole shall be carefully checked for obstructions with a
NONFERROUS, NONSPARKING [wooden] tamping pole, a tape, a light or a mirror before it
is loaded.  The use of magnifying mirrors is prohibited. Explosives may not be forced past an
obstruction in a blast hole.
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(5) EACH [The] blast hole shall be logged THROUGHOUT THE
LEADING PROCESS to measure the amount and location of explosives placed in the blast hole.
The information is to be recorded on the blast report required by § 211.133 (relating to blast
report).

(6) A blast hole containing loose dynamite shall be stemmed but not tamped.

(7) The Department may specify the type and amount of stemming.

(g) Before connecting one loaded blast hole to another, all activity within the blast
area shall cease, and all nonessential persons shall retreat to a safe place.  The blaster-in-charge
shall determine the blast area.

(h) Primers shall be prepared only at the hole to be loaded, immediately prior to
loading.  The components of the primer are to be kept separated at the collar of the blast hole.
The primer may not be slit, dropped, deformed or carelessly handled and may not be tamped or
forced into the blast hole.

(i) Immediately upon completing the loading of a blast hole, any wood, paper or other
materials used to pack explosives shall be inspected for the presence of explosives and removed
to an isolated area.  These materials may be burned after the blast has been fired.  Persons may
not be within 100 feet (30.48 meters) of these burning materials.

(j) Measures shall be taken to reduce the chance of flyrock including:

(1) The use of blasting mats or other protective devices, if, in the opinion of
the blaster-in-charge, the measures are necessary to prevent injuries to persons or damage to
property.

(2) When blasting to an open, vertical face, checking the face for loose,
hanging material or other faults prior to loading the blast holes.

(k) Explosives may not be brought to a blast site in greater quantities than ARE
EXPECTED TO BE [that] needed for that blast.  Surplus explosives may not be stored IN [at]
the blast AREA [site].

(l) Before a blast hole is loaded, it shall be checked to ensure that it is cool and does
not contain any hot metal or smoldering material remaining from drilling the hole.

(m) The use of abrasive or sharp-edged constituents in stemming material shall be
avoided if tamping is necessary and the tamping may sever blasting cap leg wires, shock tubes or
detonating cords.

(n) Blasting activities may not be conducted within 800 feet (243.84 meters) of a
public roadway unless precautionary measures are taken to safeguard the public.  Precautionary
measures include stopping or slowing of traffic and posting signs.
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§ 211.155.  Preblast measures.

Prior to detonating a blast, the blaster-in-charge shall:

(1) Ensure that all excess explosives have been removed from the blast area and are
located in a safe area.

(2) Inspect the blast site to ensure that connections are proper and adequate.

(3) Ensure that the blast area is cleared and safeguarded.

(4) In addition to the warning signal, notify all persons who may be in danger.

(5) Ensure that the necessary precautions are in place to protect the public on public
roads.

(6) At least 1 minute but no more than 2 minutes prior to detonation, sound a warning
signal of three blasts, each lasting approximately 5 seconds.  The warning signal shall be of
sufficient power to be heard 1,000 feet (304.80 meters) from the blast site.

§ 211.156.  Detonating the blast.

(a) A blast may be detonated only between sunrise and sunset unless the Department
authorizes a blast at another time of day.

(b) Only the blaster-in-charge may detonate a blast.

§ 211.157.  Postblast measures.

(a) After a blast has been detonated, no one may return to the blast area until all smoke
and fumes have dissipated.

(b) After the smoke and fumes have cleared, the blaster-in-charge shall return to the
blast site and closely inspect the blast site to ensure that it is safe with respect to the blasting
activity.

(c) After the blaster-in-charge has determined the blast area is safe, the blaster-in-
charge shall sound an all-clear signal, consisting of one long blast, lasting approximately
10 seconds.  This all-clear signal shall be of sufficient power to be heard 1,000 feet
(304.80 meters) from the blast site.
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(d) The blaster-in-charge shall determine if a misfire occurred and shall take all
actions necessary to render the blast site safe.  The blast site shall be made safe before drilling or
muck removal begins.

(e) If the blaster-in-charge suspects that undetonated ammonium nitrate/fuel mixture
remains in the muck pile, the muck pile shall be thoroughly wetted down with water before any
digging is attempted.  Special attention shall be given to determine if primers, other explosives or
detonators are present in the muck pile.

(f) The blaster-in-charge shall immediately complete the blast report as required by
§ 211.133 (relating to blast report).

(g) The blaster-in-charge shall notify the Department within 24 hours of the
occurrence of a misfire.  A copy of the blast report shall be forwarded to the Department.

§ 211.158.  Mudcapping.

Mudcapping in blasting activities is allowed only if the blaster-in-charge determines that
drilling the material to be blasted would endanger the safety of the workmen.  If mudcapping is
necessary, no more than 10 pounds (4.53 kilograms) of explosives shall be used for a blast.

§ 211.159.  Electric detonation.

(a) Electric blasting caps shall be tested for continuity with a blaster’s galvanometer or
blaster’s multimeter specifically designed for testing blasting circuits.  Testing shall be done:

(1) Before the primers are made up.

(2) After the blast hole has been loaded but prior to stemming.

(3) As the final connecting of the circuit progresses.

(b) When a shunt is removed from electric blasting cap leg wires, the exposed wires
shall be reshunted.

(c) Electric blasting caps may not be employed in a blast if there is any possibility of
wires from the circuit being thrown against overhead or nearby electric lines.

(d) An effort may not be made to reclaim or reuse electric blasting caps if the leg
wires have been broken off near the top of the cap.

(e) Leg wires on electric blasting caps shall extend above the top of the blast hole.
Wire connections and splices are not allowed in the blast hole.
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(f) Only solid wire shall be used in a blasting circuit.  The use of stranded wire is
prohibited.

(g) When electric detonation is used near public roads, signs shall be erected at least
500 feet (152.40 meters) from the blast areas reading:  “BLAST AREA - SHUT OFF ALL TWO-
WAY RADIOS.”

(h) A blasting machine is the only permissible source of electrical power for a
detonation.

(i) The blasting circuit shall remain shunted until the time for detonation unless the
circuit is being tested or connections are being made.

(j) A sticker shall be displayed on blasting machines that shows they have been tested
within the last 30 days by procedures recommended by the manufacturer or supplier to ensure
performance at rated capacity.  If blasting caps are used in the test, they shall be covered with
earth or sand.

(k) When electronic detonation is used, the blaster-in-charge shall determine that
adequate current, as specified by the manufacturer of the detonators, is available to properly
energize the detonators in the circuit.

§ 211.160.  Nonelectric detonation.

Nonelectric initiation systems shall be checked and tested for secure connections in
accordance with recommendations of the manufacturer of the system in use.

§ 211.161.  Detonating cords.

(a) Detonating cord shall be cut from the supply roll immediately after placement in
the blast hole.  A sufficient length of downlines shall be left at the top of the blast hole for
connections to trunk lines.  The supply roll shall be immediately removed from the site.  Scrap
pieces of detonating cord shall be destroyed after connections are made.

(b) A trunk line shall be covered with at least 12 inches (0.30 meter) of earth or sand,
unless otherwise authorized by the Department.

(c) Detonating cord may not be spliced if the resulting splice will fall within a blast
hole.
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§ 211.162.  Safety fuse.

(a) When safety fuse is used in blasting, it shall be long enough to provide a burn time
of 120 seconds or longer.

(b) Prior to using safety fuse, the blaster-in-charge shall conduct a test burn.  The test
burn will utilize at least a 12-inch (0.30-meter) section of fuse which is lit, then timed to
determine actual burn time.

(c) A blasting cap shall only be crimped to a safety fuse with a proper crimping tool.
A blasting cap may not be attached to safety fuse in or within 10 feet (3.05 meters) of a magazine.

SUBCHAPTER G.
REQUIREMENTS FOR MONITORING

Sec.

211.171. General provisions for monitoring.
211.172. Monitoring instruments.
211.173. Monitoring records.

§ 211.171.  General provisions for monitoring.

(a) If the scaled distance of a blast is 90 or numerically less at the closest building not
owned or leased by the blasting activity permittee or its customer, ground vibration and airblast
monitoring shall be conducted.  The Department may require the permittee to conduct ground
vibration and airblast monitoring at other buildings or structures even if the scaled distance is
greater than 90.

(b) Blasting activities without monitoring may be considered in compliance with this
chapter if at a specified location, on at least five blasts, monitoring has demonstrated that the
maximum peak particle velocity at the specified location represents more than a 50% reduction
from the limit in the permit and this chapter.  Future blasts shall maintain a scaled distance equal
to or greater than the scaled distance for the monitored blasts.

(c) If monitoring is required, a ground vibration and airblast record of each blast shall
be made part of the blast report.

(d) If monitoring is performed with instruments that have variable “trigger levels,” the
trigger for ground vibration shall be set at a particle velocity of no more than .25 INCHES PER
SECOND [50% of the compliance limit] unless otherwise directed by the Department.
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(e) If the peak particle velocity and airblast from a blast are below the set trigger level of
the instrument, a printout from the instrument shall be attached to the blast report.  This printout
shall provide the date and time when the instrument was turned on and off, the set trigger levels and
information concerning the status of the instrument during the activation period.  WHEN AN
INSTRUMENT IS USED THAT DOES NOT PROVIDE THIS INFORMATION, THE
DEPARTMENT WILL ALLOW THE PERMITTEE TO SUPPLY ON/OFF TIMES ON A
SIGNED STATEMENT.

§ 211.172.  Monitoring instruments.

If monitoring is required, the monitoring instrument shall provide a permanent record of
each blast.

(1) A monitoring instrument for recording ground vibration, at a minimum, shall have:

(i) A frequency range of 2 Hz to 100 Hz.

(ii) Particle velocity range of .02 to 4.0 inches (5.08 x 10-4 to 0.10 meters) per
second or greater.

(iii) An internal dynamic calibration system.

(2) A monitoring instrument used to record airblast shall have:

(i) A lower frequency limit of 0.1, 2.0 or 6.0 Hz.

(ii) An upper end flat-frequency response of at least 200 Hz.

(iii) A dynamic range that, at a minimum, extends from 106 to 142 dBL.

(3) A monitoring instrument shall be calibrated annually and when an instrument is
repaired and the repair may effect the response of the instrument.  Calibration shall be done by the
manufacturer of the equipment, or by an organization approved by the manufacturer, or by an
organization having verifiable knowledge of the calibration procedures developed by the
manufacturer.  The calibration procedure shall include testing the response of the entire system to
externally-generated dynamic inputs.  These inputs shall test the entire monitoring system at a
sufficient number of discrete frequency intervals to assure flat response throughout the frequency
ranges specified by this chapter.  Dynamic reference standards used for calibration shall be
traceable to the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST).  Calibration procedures
and documentation of calibration shall be made available for review by the Department.

(4) A nonalterable sticker that is clearly visible shall be firmly affixed to the
instrument.  The sticker shall indicate the name of the calibration facility, the calibration
technician, the date of calibration and frequency range of the airblast monitor.
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§ 211.173.  Monitoring records.

(a) Anyone using a monitoring instrument shall be trained on the proper use of that
instrument by a representative of the manufacturer or distributor, or other competent individual.
A record of that training is to be maintained and available for review by the Department.

(b) Monitoring records, at a minimum, shall contain:

(1) [The calibration pulse] A CALIBRATION PULSE ON EACH OF
THE MUTUALLY-PERPENDICULAR GROUND VIBRATION TRACES. THESE
PULSES SHALL REPRESENT THE DYNAMIC RESPONSE OF THE ENTIRE
RECORDING SYSTEM TO AN INTERNALLY-GENERATED CALIBRATION SIGNAL,
AND SHALL ALLOW THE DEPARTMENT TO VERIFY THAT THE SEISMOGRAPH
IS RECORDING GROUND VIBRATION TO ITS SPECIFIC ACCURACY.

[(2) The calibration signal of the gain setting, for instruments with variable
gain settings.]

[(3)] (2) The time history of particle velocities for three mutually
perpendicular ground vibration traces and one air-overpressure trace, including time base,
amplitude scales and peak values for all traces.

[(4)] (3) The results of a field calibration test for each channel.

[(5)] (4) The frequency content of all vibration signals using either single
degree of freedom (SDF) response spectrum or half-cycle zero-crossing analysis methods.

[(6)] (5) Frequency versus particle velocity plots as indicated in
§ 211.151(c), Figure 1 (relating to prevention of damage).

[(7)] (6) The name and signature of the individual taking the recording.

[(8)] (7) The location of the monitoring instrument, date and time of the
recording.

[(9)] (8) The last calibration date of the monitoring instrument.

(c) IF THE DEPARTMENT QUESTIONS THE VALIDITY OF A GROUND
VIBRATION OR AIRBLAST RECORD, OR THE INTERPRETATION OF THE
RECORD, T[T]he Department may require a ground vibration or airblast recording to be
analyzed or certified by an independent, qualified consultant who is not related to the blasting
activity permittee or its customer.  When the Department requires that a recording be analyzed or
certified, it shall be performed and included with the blast report within 30 days.
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SUBCHAPTER H.
BLASTING ACTIVITIES NEAR UTILITY LINES

Sec.

211.181. Scope.
211.182. General provisions.

§ 211.181.  Scope.

This subchapter applies to buried or underground utility lines and utility lines making
contact with the surface of the ground.

§ 211.182.  General provisions.

(a) Blasts shall be designed and conducted so that they provide the greatest relief
possible in a direction away from the utility line and to keep the resulting vibration and actual
ground movement to the lowest possible level.

(b) Blasting shall use a type of explosive specifically designed to minimize the
likelihood of propagation between explosive charges.

(c) When blasting within 200 feet (60.96 meters) of a utility line, blast holes may not
exceed 3 inches (7.62 x 10-2 meters) in diameter.

(d) Blasting in the vicinity of a utility line shall be conducted as follows:

(1) Excavation from the ground surface to a depth corresponding to the
elevation of the top of the buried utility line may proceed at the discretion of the blaster-in-charge,
using safe, accepted techniques.

(2) Once the excavation has attained a depth equal to the elevation of the top of
the buried utility line or if the line is exposed, or makes solid contact with the surface, the vertical
depth of subsequent blast holes shall be restricted to one half the horizontal distance from the
closest portion of the utility line.

(e) If one or more of the requirements listed in this section are not feasible or creates a
potential safety problem, the permittee may apply to the Department for a waiver of the provision
or provisions in question. This waiver will be granted if, in the judgment of the Department AND
THE UTILITY OWNING THE LINES, the alternate procedure does not endanger the utility
line.


